Under new management. Thank you for being patient and considerate.

Source: Music of the Avant-garde 1966–1973 by Larry Austin, ISBN-13: 978-0520267459



  • Format: PDF
  • Publisher: ‎ University of California Press; First edition (July 6, 2011)
  • Language: ‎ English
  • 396 pages
  • ISBN-10: ‎ 0520267451
  • ISBN-13: ‎ 978-0520267459

The journal Source: Music of the Avant-garde was and remains a seminal source for materials on the heyday of experimental music and arts. Conceived in 1966 and published to 1973, it included some of the most important composers and artists of the time: John Cage, Harry Partch, David Tudor, Morton Feldman, Robert Ashley, Pauline Oliveros, Dick Higgins, Nam June Paik, Steve Reich, and many others. A pathbreaking publication, Source documented crucial changes in performance practice and live electronics, computer music, notation and event scores, theater and installations, intermedia and technology, politics and the social roles of composers and performers, and innovations in the sound of music.

Larry Austin was the founding editor of Source and is Emeritus Professor of Music at the University of North Texas. Douglas Kahn is the author of Noise Water, Meat: A History of Sound in the Arts, and a Research Professor at the National Institute for Experimental Arts, University of New South Wales, Sydney.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Source: Music of the Avant-garde 1966–1973 by Larry Austin, ISBN-13: 978-0520267459”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *