We are on vacation until November 30th. Thank you for being patient and considerate.

Listen to This 4th Edition by Mark Evan Bonds, ISBN-13: 978-0134419510



  • Author(s): Mark Evan Bonds
  • Format: PDF
  • Size: 45 MB
  • 576 pages
  • ISBN-10: 0134419510
  • ISBN-13: 978-0134419510
  • Publisher: Pearson (January 21, 2017)
  • Language: English



For courses in Music Appreciation.

Listen to the music. Hear the elements. Connect your playlist.
Listen to This is designed to connect students’ interest in the music on their own playlists with great music from throughout history and all over the world. It is based on the idea that all music is built on a combination of a few basic elements — melody, dynamics, rhythm, harmony, texture, timbre, form, and word-music relationships — and if students listen for those elements they can better understand how a piece of music works, no matter how unfamiliar it may seem at first. This elements-centered approach provides a strong foundation for learning about, and enjoying, many new musical styles. The Fourth Edition includes expanded coverage of timbre as well as new chapters on additional musical works.

Mark Evan Bonds is the Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor of Music at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he has taught since 1992. He holds degrees from Duke University (B.A.), Christian-Albrechts-Universität Kiel (M.A.) and Harvard University (Ph.D.). His books include Wordless Rhetoric: Musical Form and the Metaphor of the Oration (1991), After Beethoven: Imperatives of Symphonic Originality (1996), Music as Thought: Listening to the Symphony in the Age of Beethoven (2006), and Absolute Music: The History of an Idea (2014). He is the author of numerous essays on the music of Haydn and Mozart, on the nineteenth-century symphony, and on the aesthetics and philosophy of music. He has received grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the American Council of Learned Societies, and the William N. Reynolds Foundation. The fourth edition of his History of Music in Western Culture, a textbook for undergraduate music history survey courses, was published by Pearson in 2013. The new fourth edition of Listen to This reflects his experience and dedication to teaching music appreciation to undergraduates for more than 20 years.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Listen to This 4th Edition by Mark Evan Bonds, ISBN-13: 978-0134419510”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *